MSc PHEC – Scholarship Opportunity: Chevening Scholarships – Accepting Applications for 2016/17
August 18, 2015

Chevening Scholarships – Accepting Applications for 2016/17


Applications for 2016/2017 Chevening Scholarships are now open, and will close on 3 November at 12:00 GMT (midday UK time)

How do I apply?

  1. Please read this important information before you apply
  2. Follow the instructions on the apply page to submit your application
  3. Follow the timeline for your application journey

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. The programme makes awards to outstanding scholars with leadership potential from around the world to study postgraduate courses at universities in the UK.

The programme provides full or part funding for full-time courses at postgraduate level, normally a one-year Master’s degree, in any subject and at any UK university.

To be eligible for a Chevening Award, you must:

  • Be a citizen of a Chevening-eligible country, and intend to return there for a minimum of 2 years after your Chevening Award has finished.
  • Hold a degree that is equivalent to at least an upper-second class (2:1) honours degree in the UK before applying.
  • Have completed at least two years’ work experience before applying. This can include voluntary work and paid or unpaid internships.
  • Meet the Chevening English language requirement by 14 July 2016. There will be no exceptions.
  • Apply to three different eligible UK university courses (unless otherwise specified in your award category). For further information visit ‘what courses should I apply to?
  • Not hold British citizenship or dual British citizenship, unless you are a citizen of a British Overseas Territory or hold BN(O) and are applying from Hong Kong.
  • Not have previously studied in the UK under a UK government-funded scholarship.
  • Not be an employee, relative of employee, or former employee (since July 2012) of Her Majesty’s Government (including British Embassies/High Commissions, the Department for International Development, the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, UK Trade and Investment, the Ministry of Defence and the Home Office), the British Council, a partner, a sponsoring UK university, or a staff member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities.


For other scholarship opportunities please visit: here.